Friendships from the past

Remember when you were in school and you had a group of friends you hung out with?

I think many of us have lost touch with our closest high school friends. The friends that you were always around and the ones you did everything with. Planning out what you would do on the weekend and it was only Monday. Those same friends you skipped school with and got in trouble with.

You promise each other you will always stay in touch. One at a time you get married and some time passes by. Then you start a family and more time passes by. As the children get older you are so busy taking them back and forth to school and activities. The years start flying by.

As I have gotten older I find the months fly by faster than the days. I find that I really do not have any close friends anymore that I can go do things with.

I think in school we have friends to get through our life and talk about how cruel our parents were when they grounded us.

I think as adults we develop relationships with other parents and a few teachers and then we become known as so and so’s mom and dad. The children graduate high school and we never see those parents again. They were really more like acquaintances instead of friends.

Now all of our children are grown and moved out of the house and some of them have started their own families.

I want to get involved with something where I can meet some new people and make some new friends.

Remember the song by James Taylor and Carol King “You’ve got a friend” I am attaching the link to the video. Listen to that song and I think you will understand where I am coming from. I am sure I am not the only one who feels this way.

3 thoughts on “Friendships from the past

Leave a Reply

