I made that call…

When things don’t go exactly the way I plan them to be, I tend to try to see the positive side of everything so that I can get on with my day. Not everyone is like that…

I recently called My Mother to wish her a Happy Thanksgiving. It was a bad decision. I’m not sorry that I made the call because it made me the one who can push the bad aside, and the one who can still show respect. The problem is this: She refused my call.

By Mom refusing my call, shows me that I was correct about her all along. She was always self centered, self involved, and extremely uncaring as a parent. After all, if you had read my recent blog about my childhood, it’s obvious that she didn’t know how to be a Mother.

After 27 nasty messages on my answer machine, all from her, I finally had blocked her phone number…this was quite a while back. I called my youngest Sister who lives close to her, and explained the situation at the time. She agreed that I did the right thing. She said if she didn’t have to be Mom’s caretaker, and if Mom had treated her the way she treated me and my Bother, she wouldn’t be there for her. Fortunately for this Sister, she’s the baby. By the time she was born Mom was older and wanted to finally KEEP one of her children who was born out of wedlock. Sure it’s not a big deal these days…but back then it was.

So I made the call. She didn’t accept it. I don’t feel bad at all. In fact, I am so happy and so relieved that I feel like a big load has been lifted off my back. The reason I am so upset right now is this: My youngest Sister added in a text to me, after telling me she was sorry that Mom didn’t accept my call, were these words: “I don’t know what made you block her calls.” WHAT?!?!?!

I give up. I can’t deal with STUPID, and that was as stupid as stupid can ever get. I’m going to go on with my life and try to forget that most of my family are nuts. I need a break.

Thank goodness we live a good distance between all family members in all directions 🙂

2 thoughts on “I made that call…

Leave a Reply

